Follow on Instagram

Public Holidays in Spain 2019

Spain has some public holidays that apply to the entire country, other public holidays which apply only regionally and even local holidays which apply only to some municipalities.


National holidays

  • 1st of January , New Year – Año Nuevo
  • 6th of January, Epiphany – Epifania del Señor
  • 7th of January. Bank Holiday since the 6th fell on a Sunday
  • 14th of April, Palm Sunday – Domingo de Ramos
  • 18th of April, Maundy Thursday – Jueves Santo (Entire Spain except Catalonia).
  • 19th of April, Good Friday – Viernes Santo
  • 21st of April, Easter Sunday – Domingo dePascua
  • 1st of May, First of May – Día del Trabajador
  • 25th of July, Sant James – Santiago Apóstol
  • 15th of August, Assumption Day – Asunción de la Virgen
  • 12th of October, Columbus day – Día de la Hispanidad
  • 1st of November, All Saints Day – Todos los Santos
  • 6th of December, Spain’s Constitution Day – Día de la Constitución
  • 8th of December, Immaculate conception Day – Inmaculada Concepción
  • 9th Bank Holiday since the 8th fell on a Sunday
  •  25th of December, 1st Christmas Day – Día de la Navidad

Regional holidays, a selection (mainly in Andalusia, Murcia and Valencia)

  • 28th of February, Andalusia’s Day – Día de Andalucia – Andalusia
  • 19th of March, San Jose – Valencia and Murcia
  • 22nd of April, 2. Easter Monday – in Valencia, the Balearic Islands, Catalonia, La Rioja and Navarra
  • 2nd of May, the day after Labor day off – in Andalusia, Aragonia, Asturias, Canary Islands, Kastilien, Leon, Extremadura and Madrid
  • 9th of June, Day of the Murcia Region – Día de la región Murcia – Murcia
  • 10th of June. Bank Holiday in Murcia since the 9th fell on a Sunday
  • 9th of October, Valencia’s day – Día de la Comunidad Valenciana – Valencia
  • 26th of December, Public holiday in some regions

In addition there are local holidays in the municipalities. In some cases it may also be a local public holiday only in a particular part of a municipality.

Daylight saving time begins on Sunday 31st of March. Winter time begins on Sunday 27th of October 2019.

Beach in Fuengirola, Costa del Sol

Facebook Comments